Creating my story world.

Frankly, I didn’t really give this much thought when I started writing my story. I had chosen a setting that was familiar to me – Granada, Spain – I wanted to write about a place that was important to me, somewhere that conjured up wonderful images in my head, reminiscent of an era long since forgotten. It was the perfect place, a mix of magic and mystery, stunning scenery, interesting history, awesome architecture and with an air of tranquillity that inspired my imagination.

alhambra full

Only later, when I read books on creative writing, did I realise that many writers plan their story world before they start writing. Maybe I had done all my planning subconsciously, because it evolved very naturally in my mind. Each time that I demanded something of it, it was there, waiting for me, I never had to force my story into that world; it belonged there and could not have been anywhere else.

alhambra gardens

As I look back and focus my attention on the details of my world, I am never disappointed.  I can mould and shape it in any way I choose, but I don’t have to try too hard. The core ingredients are all there, offering me a seemingly endless supply of possibilities and opportunities.

leones 2

My story world is real, it has real presence and it has history – I can travel back in time and it still works, if anything, the historical element makes the story better, giving me strong foundations. My characters have roots here, it resonates throughout the story, even when a change in location is called for.

It is never forgotten or overlooked.

Thank you Granada. You are much more than a mere location.

Leave a Reply

