Retreating to Camp again!

It probably seems as though I am repeating myself, but it really is time to head for Camp NaNoWriMo again.

NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) takes place each November, the challenge (if you didn’t already know) is to write 50,000 words in 30 days – November!

I found the site last October, and in a moment of madness I signed up to the challenge. I had never written anything before, other than at school or university, and certainly nothing that could possibly resemble a novel. But, not one to turn down such an opportunity, I jumped in, feet first.

As it happens, I am a ‘pantser’ – no planning, no outline – basically no idea at all – just flying by the seat of my pants, trying to create a masterpiece. Well, believe it or not, I actually met the 50,000 target with several days to spare. OK, so it wasn’t going to win any prizes for its plot or character development, but it was a first draft – and they are supposed to be rubbish, and I could definitely relate to that.

Since then, my first draft has become a manuscript (see, I did learn something!) of some 95,000 words. I have rewritten several parts, and it even has a start, middle and an ending now – it’s improving with each re-write.  It will soon be ready for beta reading and then hopefully a final edit (or two!) I have persevered with my novel, as I said earlier, I am not one to give up, and I will publish it. It won’t make me rich in financial terms, but it has been – and still is – a fabulous experience. I have learnt so much about creative writing, met some great writers and have had loads of support from everyone. It just goes to prove that doing something new, something that is out of your comfort zone, can be really rewarding and great fun. It’s a lot of work, and a lot of time and effort has been put into this, but I am pretty chuffed with the outcome. Consequently, in April, I did my first stint at Camp NaNoWrimo and made a start on the sequel. This writing lark can be quite addictive.

Anyway, as I pursue the first two ‘novels’, another thought popped into my head. I was going to save it for this year’s NaNo in November, but along came July’s Camp, so it just has to be done now. As I said, I’m a pantser still, it’s just that this time I have a vague idea of a story a few days before it all kicks off. (RESULT!!!)

July will be time for a new story, I’m venturing into a sci-fi parody – it could all go very badly wrong, but it’s worth a shot. ‘Planet Dog’ is due any day now, look out for the paw prints in the sky as the planet hits stormy weather!

Planet-dog-cover1

Happy Camping to all participants.

Leave a Reply

