So, you want to be a professional reader?

When I started beta-reading for fellow writers, it didn’t even occur to me that such a thing existed as a professional reader.

As far as I’m concerned, a person either reads or they don’t – ‘simples’! (Ref: Alexander the Meerkat)

Anyway, I read a few books and started leaving reviews, when an author actually asked me to review his book! But to get hold of it, I needed to get a NetGalley account. By now, I was dabbling in the occult – the deep, mysterious world frequented by these so-called professional readers. I began to doubt whether I was in the right place, after all, reading is not my profession – so can I be a professional reader?

Well, YES I CAN!

The definition fits me perfectly:

Do you love to spread the word about new books?

Do you review and recommend books online, in print, for your bookstore, library patrons, blog readers, or classroom?

Then you are what we call a “professional reader,” and NetGalley is for you.

That’s me!  Amazing eh?

So, now armed with my NetGalley account, I can request to read books before they are published:

NetGalley is a service to promote and publicize forthcoming titles to readers of influence.

If you are a reviewer, blogger, journalist, librarian, bookseller, educator, or in the media, you can use NetGalley for FREE to request and read titles before they are published.

I browse the aisles, select the books I’d like to read and hit the request button.  Some books are available immediately, for others you have to wait, but I just love getting the email to tell me that  a new book has been added to my bookshelf – it’s like getting a present! 

If reading is your thing, check out NetGalley.com

To be honest, downloading my first book to my kindle was a bit like pulling teeth, but I persevered and eventually succeeded – more by luck than judgement though. Now, it’s easy peasy and well worth the effort. I get ‘presents’ on a regular basis and have a constant supply of great books to read.

Heaven!

Leave a Reply

