Posted in NaNo, Why write, writing

Is writing in my DNA?

Does our genetic make-up determine whether a person will be a good writer or not? Is there any scientific proof to explain why some people write whilst others paint, sing or dance?bio_dna

As a late bloomer in the writing world, I always thought I could write a book, (doesn’t everyone?)  but never really thought that I would. Left to my own devices, I probably would still be day-dreaming about it, rather than actually doing it.  If I hadn’t seen the NaNo challenge last year – to write 50,000 words in 30 days – I doubt I would have even contemplated the idea of really writing something.

But 10 months on , those 30 days are long since gone …and I am still writing (or should I  say learning to write?) NaNo opened a huge can of worms for me, setting my imagination free, letting me just make stuff up, toss absurd ideas around and then throw them altogether into a weird, wonderful story.

I still struggle with the idea of being a writer, as yet my only publications are articles written for others. My own NaNo book is written and I hope to publish it early next year. Maybe then I’ll feel more confident in calling myself a proper writer, or should that be author?

I can definitely call myself a rambler though, having just wandered off course massively! Anyway, back to my original question – Is writing in my DNA?

I recently took the Jung Typology test (just out of curiosity, of course, plus I liked taking tests….yeah, I know – weird!!)  The results were pretty accurate, much to my surprise.

“Beneath the quiet exterior, you hold deep convictions about the weightier matters of life.  You gravitate toward a role for the cause, not for personal glory or political power.

You are a champion of the oppressed and downtrodden. You may fantasise about getting revenge on those who victimise the defenceless. The concept of ‘poetic justice’ is appealing to you.

You are accurately suspicious about others’ motives, and are not easily led. Though affable and sympathetic to most, you are selective about your friends. Such a friendship is a symbiotic bond that transcends mere words.

You have a knack for fluency in language and facility in communication. 

Writing, counselling and even politics are areas where you will frequently find your niche.”

My NaNo book, which I started last November is the story of revenge against brutality and corruption, where poetic justice is most definitely on the cards.  My main character seeks retribution against a ‘friend’ who has betrayed and lied to her and others.  When the legal system fails them, she exacts revenge in order to get justice. Her reward is not personal glory, merely that wrongs are put right and the victims are vindicated. (Sounds familiar eh?)

When I am not writing, my ‘day’ job is as a translator and teacher of Spanish. (rings a bell too)

Is this all pure poppycock? Or is there really some solid foundation here?

Was I meant to write this story?  Is this my destiny?

Who knows….is there another test to answer that?

A polygraph maybe in twelve month’s time?

Author:

Dreams can come true and mine was to live in Spain forever and ever ....  Well, after studying languages many years ago I became totally enamoured with all things Spanish, I finally made the big move for a more 'relaxed' lifestyle in 2003.  Since then, I have been teaching Spanish to Ex-pats and translating. Also, I trained as a Community Manager (Social Media) so that I have a genuine excuse to be on Facebook, Twitter and the Internet for hours on end, but then I started to write. My first attempt was for NaNo 2012 with 'The Nasrid Charm' (a story set in Spain and the Afterlife.) Like most first drafts, this is in need of serious revision and has been placed on the backburner, while I pursue my mystery stories. I'll get back to it - one day :) 

Leave a Reply

