Which way now?

I am at that point now where publishing my book seems like a real possibility and not  a deluded dream. sign_post1

But, just when I think that the end is in sight, I am faced with the dilemma of which path to take.

Do I write endless query letters and submit my manuscript to traditional publishers, only to be rejected and left waiting for what will no doubt feel like an eternity?

Do I go down the self-publishing route? Get my book out there and handle all the promotion and marketing myself?

This will definitely see my story published, but at what cost? Self-publishing involves lots of hard work and time spent on formatting, layouts, cover photos.

All this on top of editing and proofreading (which I’ve got covered already – Yay!)

On the plus side, I can do most of the other stuff myself – but will that result in a book that looks cheap and badly put together? Not necessarily – with the right help, tools and a bucket load of patience, it could be done. I’m not averse to dabbling in the dark arts of Photoshop, tracking changes on Word and PDF conversions.

I can do this!

So which company  do I use? If I just want an e-book, then Smashwords, Lulu and Createspace can get my book onto sites like Amazon, Barnes & Noble and the like, and some will even do this for free,

BUT, I do want printed copies too and to be able to sell in conventional stores, which means there will be some additional costs too. Unfortunately, living in Spain also adds on the euros as delivery charges escalate.  I could use a Spanish publishing house to print my books, this also enables me to sell them in national bookshops here. However, having spoken to many Spanish friends, the general consensus is that the market for books that are not in Spanish is pretty low, so my target audience is definitely not on my doorstep. The solution to that little problem is to translate my book, but I’m not looking to do that just yet.

Questions, questions, questions!

As I’m not there yet, maybe I’ll try the traditional approach first, but set myself a deadline. If my book doesn’t get taken up this time, then I will self-publish next year. In the meantime, I can polish my manuscript, learn about formatting and cajole my creative buddies into helping me with my cover images.

But all that can wait for now. November is just around the corner and with it comes NaNoWriMo. I have another idea up my sleeve, so I will concentrate on that  whilst my first novel is with beta readers.

Sounds like a good plan to me!

Leave a Reply

