Posted in fun, languages, learning, Spanish, teaching

My latest adventure: Learn the lingo!

With NaNo all over and done with for another year, I am taking a break from writing and have been pursuing my other passion – which is not unrelated  – teaching Spanish!

I’ve been dabbling in the world of on-line course creation and have been busy designing my own language course.

Aimed primarily at the British Ex-pat market – although not exclusively – I have been making videos, recording audio and writing lessons to produce a complete audio-visual, yet fun way to learn.

It’s been an intense learning curve for me too, never having ventured any further than cropping photos to now using video editing tools. I am now fully conversant with Powerpoint, clip art, Creative Commons licences, as well as animation sites and ways to improve audio recordings. Phew! It’s not for the faint-hearted, but when I look back at all of the info I have amassed and the course content, I am pretty chuffed with my achievements so far.

My promo video is very tongue-in-cheek, (spoiler alert!) so don’t be offended by my sense of humour. Learning anything new has to be fun, else most people will just give up and look for something different.

I’m using the Udemy site as the platform for my course, but hope to attract students from as many avenues as possible. The course is due to go live in January 2014, at which point I will be offering discount coupons for the early birds amongst you. I’ll post some sample lessons here and on my other sites, so feel free to try them out.

Remember, learning a language has many benefits, not just social and cultural but it also helps to ward of illnesses like dementia and Alzheimer’s disease by virtue of exercising and stimulating your brain cells!

I’m not guaranteeing that you’ll live forever, but at least you’ll have much more fun when you visit Spain!

Everybody’s welcome – what are you waiting for?

Author:

Dreams can come true and mine was to live in Spain forever and ever ....  Well, after studying languages many years ago I became totally enamoured with all things Spanish, I finally made the big move for a more 'relaxed' lifestyle in 2003.  Since then, I have been teaching Spanish to Ex-pats and translating. Also, I trained as a Community Manager (Social Media) so that I have a genuine excuse to be on Facebook, Twitter and the Internet for hours on end, but then I started to write. My first attempt was for NaNo 2012 with 'The Nasrid Charm' (a story set in Spain and the Afterlife.) Like most first drafts, this is in need of serious revision and has been placed on the backburner, while I pursue my mystery stories. I'll get back to it - one day :) 

Leave a Reply

