Posted in A to Z challenge, Enid Blyton

A is for … Authors

AAs a child, I devoured the books of Enid Blyton and can still recall the stories from the St Clare’s and Malory Towers’ series.

Even before that I was a devoted reader, but Enid Blyton is the first author that I remember searching for in the local library. From that point on, books became an essential part of life.

I’m sorry to say that I don’t yet have a particular favourite Spanish author, not one that I keep returning to, but I’m sure that day will come soon. I’m still a sucker for a J.K Rowling or Jo Nesbo story (which I have read in Spanish – I know …. shame on me!) I tend to prefer mystery thrillers or fantasy tales, but am open-minded enough to try other genres.

That said, I am more likely to consider  the offerings of Indie authors these days too, as these have  proven to be a veritable treasure trove in recent years. In 2014 alone, I already have two new favourite authors to follow:   Robert Bailey (The Professor) and Gabrielle Arrowsmith (Concealed in the Shadows)

It’s going to be a very good year – positively vintage methinks, and I owe it all to Enid Blyton.

Author:

Dreams can come true and mine was to live in Spain forever and ever ....  Well, after studying languages many years ago I became totally enamoured with all things Spanish, I finally made the big move for a more 'relaxed' lifestyle in 2003.  Since then, I have been teaching Spanish to Ex-pats and translating. Also, I trained as a Community Manager (Social Media) so that I have a genuine excuse to be on Facebook, Twitter and the Internet for hours on end, but then I started to write. My first attempt was for NaNo 2012 with 'The Nasrid Charm' (a story set in Spain and the Afterlife.) Like most first drafts, this is in need of serious revision and has been placed on the backburner, while I pursue my mystery stories. I'll get back to it - one day :) 

6 thoughts on “A is for … Authors

  1. Without authors where would we be? Hi I’m visiting from Smurfin’ The Web during ther A-Z. I have to admit that I am not much of a reader these days as an adult, but as a child I read everything. I remember Blyton and for me she served a purpose until I was old enough to move onto something else. Good luck with the rest of the challenge =)
    Dale

  2. My most favourite children’s book was and is The Magical Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton. My Son bought me the three book set for Christmas the year before last, and I still love it to this day.
    Great post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

