E is for … Emotions

EWhen it comes to emotion, I am a closed book!

It’s true.

If you ask me how I am, I can guarantee that the words ‘I’m fine, thank you’ are forming on my lips before you finish the question.

Automatic pilot is my partner-in-crime, well even my phone operates on Android!

I’m not intentionally rude or disinterested, rather I am guarded and thoughtful (my words, of course!) I tend to think before I speak, analyse what I am going to say and calculate the probable reactions beforehand.

In a nutshell, I am a control freak.

Unless you are one of the very few people who really know me, then you will only ever see my outer disguise.

In a crowd, I will hide away and avoid unnecessary small talk.

If forced to participate, my comments are usually heavily veiled with sarcasm. (For me, there is a subtle line between saying what you mean and saying what you mean with sarcasm – it’s a less direct approach of course, but the point is generally delivered)

If I have to take the lead in a group or a meeting, then I aim to be professional. It will be planned and managed accordingly. There is no room for error – that would make me human!

You might think that this all makes for very dull writing – and you might be right (I couldn’t possibly comment!) Oh, I must add here that self-deprecation is also up there with sarcasm!

But, just because I am not the centre of attention, it doesn’t mean that I am not observing everyone else.

People watching is hugely rewarding, in terms of creating characters and developing reactions.

Of course, you’d never find me writing romantic fiction or an adventure series – that would be way too weird.

Although, it does explain why I like to write mysteries, tales of revenge, parodies  and fantasy!

After all, seeing is believing – and I see everything (then analyse it, review it, classify it, categorise it and eventually write it!)

3 comments

  1. Coming back to this one when I have more time. Are we bloggers all introverts? Is that why we prefer writing as interaction to face-to-face encounters?

  2. You sound like someone I’d get along with. I have the hardest time putting emotion in my novels. It takes me several revision passes to do it. (Why can’t everyone be calm and practical like Spock?)
    (I “liked” you on fb)
    Lexa Cain’s Blog

    1. You’re so right. Friends call me ‘Sheldeta’ – a female version of Sheldon from the Big Bang Theory – Spock is his idol :).
      I love your blog page – Egypt is one of my favourite places, full of mystery and intrigue. Look forward to reading more of your posts.

Leave a Reply

