Posted in A to Z challenge, design, formatting, photos, Photoshop

P is for … Photoshop

PIt pains me to say so, but Photoshop has become a necessary evil in my life.

Bearing that comment in mind, I must add that I only use it in the design of my book covers.

 Believe me, sometimes the time spent there is akin to being  without chocolate on a bank holiday when the shops are shut!

Pure hell on Earth!

After hours of effort, I still exit the software no further forward than when I started.

It’s a minefield out there, and filled with booby traps.

A photographer friend of mine introduced me to the cursed product, convincing me that it was THE place to be creative and turn my ideas into a reality. He then gifted me with a zillion how-to videos that were intended to guide me, step by step, through the process. Now whilst I like instructions – I’m the one who always read the manual first – these videos (supposedly directed at the complete novice) drove me to distraction. They were the most disorganised procedures imaginable – totally out of order as they had been arranged – wait for it … ALPHABETICALLY! Please tell me where the logic was in that?

There was nothing else for it than to venture into the unknown alone and with not one iota of a clue as to what I wanted to do in the first place. Fortunately, there was a tutorial within the package that made a modicum of sense, but it still assumed that, as the user, I was familiar with the jargon and the tool set.

Oh, how wrong could it be?

So, I made the fatal mistake of fumbling my way through the tool kit, clicking on everything to see what it could do. Most of the time, this ‘methodology’ worked fine, but then I came across something called the ‘dodge / burn’ tool! What the heck was that? I asked my photographer friend, who went on to rave about it, but still couldn’t explain it in layman’s terms – I guess you really need to be into that stuff to know the ins-and-outs of it.

As for me, well, I abandoned all hope of every truly taming the beast and simply dabbled with the tools that were more user-friendly and self-explanatory. After a while, I learnt how to add layers, extract images, change colours and add effects – enough for my needs – all  through trial and error.

Most of the time I’m not even sure how I achieved certain effects, but have come to realise that I don’t really need to know. It’s far less stressful to just Google the  question ‘how do I do something?’ , than it is to try to remember what I did last time.

Finally, I’ve come to terms with the fact that Photoshop will never be my friend, but we can at least be civil to each other!

Author:

Dreams can come true and mine was to live in Spain forever and ever ....  Well, after studying languages many years ago I became totally enamoured with all things Spanish, I finally made the big move for a more 'relaxed' lifestyle in 2003.  Since then, I have been teaching Spanish to Ex-pats and translating. Also, I trained as a Community Manager (Social Media) so that I have a genuine excuse to be on Facebook, Twitter and the Internet for hours on end, but then I started to write. My first attempt was for NaNo 2012 with 'The Nasrid Charm' (a story set in Spain and the Afterlife.) Like most first drafts, this is in need of serious revision and has been placed on the backburner, while I pursue my mystery stories. I'll get back to it - one day :) 

4 thoughts on “P is for … Photoshop

  1. Oh lord, save me from yet another inscrutable software application. It’s on my “to learn” list. I see these amazing photos and compliment the bloggers and they say ” oh, pshaw, I did that on photoshop” like it easy peasy. I had a sneaking suspicion it wouldn’t be easy peasy for meI. Gaaaaaaaa

    1. It’s a conspiracy to get you hooked! Don’t believe them! In all truth, some parts are easy and self-explanatory, but it’s the more complex stuff that can be baffling – well for me anyway. I actually mentioned this to my photographer friend yesterday and his reply was priceless. He said he was finally getting to grips with Photoshop, and it had only taken him 6 years!!!! Help!!! I think I’ll just stick to what I know I can do – there’s no need to be an expert in everything 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

