Posted in art, change, fun, happiness

A different kind of therapy

Spring time is normally the time of year when we look to redecorate our homes, but for me, it’s summer when I most feel like a change. Maybe it’s because I was a summer baby and this is when one years ends for me and the next begins. But, whatever the reason, my latest form of therapy is giving a whole new look to the place where I spend most of my time.

So, whilst it’s not exactly ‘out with the old, in with the new’, I have made a few thrifty purchases. I’ve become a regular on Ebay, which has led to me find some great bargains (who doesn’t like a bargain?) and some perfect accessories to give my home a whole new vibe.

But it’s not all about buying stuff. Indeed not – I’ve been up-cycling too, transforming some shabby looking furniture into something more  chic and fresh. It’s amazing what a coat or two of paint, a sanding block and some colourful fabric can do.

2014-06-20_18.22.48-1

This is my latest piece of wall art  on my stairway – a stencil – to add a touch of positivity and keep the Spanish feeling: it translates as “Life is not about waiting for the storm to pass, it’s about learning to dance in the rain!”

I still have a few more mini projects to complete, but I am loving the transformation thus far.

Next job is to create a truly Mediterranean kitchen – you might need sunglasses for what I have planned!

🙂 Happy Home = Happy Family 🙂

 

Author:

Dreams can come true and mine was to live in Spain forever and ever ....  Well, after studying languages many years ago I became totally enamoured with all things Spanish, I finally made the big move for a more 'relaxed' lifestyle in 2003.  Since then, I have been teaching Spanish to Ex-pats and translating. Also, I trained as a Community Manager (Social Media) so that I have a genuine excuse to be on Facebook, Twitter and the Internet for hours on end, but then I started to write. My first attempt was for NaNo 2012 with 'The Nasrid Charm' (a story set in Spain and the Afterlife.) Like most first drafts, this is in need of serious revision and has been placed on the backburner, while I pursue my mystery stories. I'll get back to it - one day :) 

One thought on “A different kind of therapy

Leave a Reply

