“Writing” a wrong!

On my recent twitter feed, I saw a post that made a distinct impression upon me. weak, strong, intelligent

It said; “The weak revenge, the strong forgive and the intelligent ignore.”

Is this not really the other way round?

Do not weak people ignore the misdoings of others , being unable to react due to their own lack of resources?

Is it not the so-called ‘intelligentsia’ that takes us into these battles, to right the perceived wrongs of others?

This is a little deep, eh? On a lighter note, the real reason that this saying incensed me is because my WIP, ‘The Nasrid Charm’ is a series heavily based around the idea of exacting revenge. I couldn’t sit back and let my protagonist be called weak now, could I? If I don’t defend her, who will?

In my mind, revenge – properly carried out – is an art form.

It requires patience, meticulous planning and attention to detail, strength of mind and the courage of ones convictions to see the task through to the end.

Petty, reactionary gestures are worthless, but true revenge is merely encouraging the natural forces of karma on their way!

Am I mistaken?

I think not, but you might think differently.

Don’t be afraid to tell me your views, after all, you are not a  figment of my imagination and I cannot ‘kill you off’.

Or can I?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

