Wait!

“While action needs context, mystery doesn’t — in fact, one of mystery’s strengths is that it demands the reader wait for context.”

I saw this remark and felt a huge wave of relief flood through me. I’m usually charged with not revealing the whole plot in the first sentence of my writing (OK, slight exaggeration, but it feels like I am always guilty of making the reader READ the damn story!)

Now, I feel vindicated – because mystery stories are not all scenes from a Columbo movie. I don’t have to say who did it, or how in the very beginning.

After all, it is not said that everything good comes to he who waits!

Leave a Reply

