Posted in 250 words, flash fiction

Beware Snowmen bearing gifts! – A Flash Fiction Challenge

captura‘If one more kid calls me Olaf, I’m gonna give ‘em more than a flipping wind-up toy!’
‘Let it go, Tommo!’ Frank’s belly wobbled beneath the costume.
‘Ha bloody ha,’ grumbled the six-foot-two snowman at his side.
‘Just remember why we’re here. Two more hours to go. Bill the Stick has shifted everything we nicked last week. There’s a nice stash waiting for us and after a few cocktails in Mexico this’ll be no more than a bad memory.’
‘I’m not really into cocktails, but I hear you. These outfits certainly do hide a multitude of sins, or should I say valuables?’His merriment was interrupted with a tug of his snow-suit.
‘Hey, Mister, the real Olaf isn’t that fat,’ screamed a tiny boy, no bigger than the sack of presents behind the men.
‘Just give the kid a gift,’ whispered Frank. ‘Don’t arouse suspicion, his mother looks like a right moody bird.’
With a huge sigh, Tommo reached into his sack, pulled out a glossily-wrapped box and thrust it into the boy’s hand, the force sending the little lad toppling.
‘Oy! Careful there, else I’ll ‘ave you for assault. He’s only a nipper!’ A scrawny woman wearing more make-up than clothing bared her nicotine-stained teeth.
Frank quickly intervened to keep the peace. ‘Sorry, love. It’s been a long day. ‘Ere, take another couple of pressies for the wee laddie.’
‘Phew! Tommo. Where’s your Christmas spirit?’
‘Melted’ he spat. ‘Roll on closing time!’

Author:

Dreams can come true and mine was to live in Spain forever and ever ....  Well, after studying languages many years ago I became totally enamoured with all things Spanish, I finally made the big move for a more 'relaxed' lifestyle in 2003.  Since then, I have been teaching Spanish to Ex-pats and translating. Also, I trained as a Community Manager (Social Media) so that I have a genuine excuse to be on Facebook, Twitter and the Internet for hours on end, but then I started to write. My first attempt was for NaNo 2012 with 'The Nasrid Charm' (a story set in Spain and the Afterlife.) Like most first drafts, this is in need of serious revision and has been placed on the backburner, while I pursue my mystery stories. I'll get back to it - one day :) 

Leave a Reply

