Posted in Uncategorized

Buster’s Nightmare – A Flash Fiction Challenge

capturaBuster’s nightmare

03 oct 2016

Another Flash fiction piece at 250 words, inspired by a ‘true’ event 🙂

Boys don’t like baths. It’s a fact.

Same goes for dogs. We hate water and bubbles. Except for Tubby, but he’s a Pomeranian, even hates sand in his paws.

 

We’re waiting for the groomer to prepare the torture chamber. Mom thinks we need pampering. What’s a Corgi to do? I refuse to get out the car. She picks me up.Embarrassing! I pull on my lead. Her response, “Okay, wee first.”

A field in front and a hairdryer behind, and she thinks my bladder needs emptying!

 

Tubby’s no help. Panting like crazy, tiny eyes bulging. He has no shame. A dog’s privates should be just that. No belly shaving, displaying his lipstick in all its glory. (Yeah, she calls it that. Sad, isn’t it?)

 

There’s Mom now, explaining our ‘needs’.

Hello!! We’re over here. Hang on…what’s that on the counter? Wow, what looooong ears. Mom, are we getting a puppy? Are we? Whoa! Where you taking him? Mr Vet, bring him back.

“Tubby, create a diversion. I’m going after him.”

“Why?”

“Because I said so. Our new brother’s in there.”

“Yay! A puppy!” He barks and chases his tail.

 

Okay, where’s he gone? Damn, he’s on that high table.

Buster nudges a chair towards the table and jumps up.

“Noooooooooooooooo!” He scurries back to the dancing Pomeranian. “Let’s get out of here.”

“Where’s the puppy.”

“Not a puppy, Tubby. A rabbit.”

“Food? And you left him behind?”

“Well, unless you want to be the next course, you better run…”

Author:

Dreams can come true and mine was to live in Spain forever and ever ....  Well, after studying languages many years ago I became totally enamoured with all things Spanish, I finally made the big move for a more 'relaxed' lifestyle in 2003.  Since then, I have been teaching Spanish to Ex-pats and translating. Also, I trained as a Community Manager (Social Media) so that I have a genuine excuse to be on Facebook, Twitter and the Internet for hours on end, but then I started to write. My first attempt was for NaNo 2012 with 'The Nasrid Charm' (a story set in Spain and the Afterlife.) Like most first drafts, this is in need of serious revision and has been placed on the backburner, while I pursue my mystery stories. I'll get back to it - one day :) 

Leave a Reply

