Under The Bridge – A Flash Fiction Challenge

captura29 sep 2016
You always said I was a dreamer, a hopeless romantic, an old soul.
I think perhaps you were right, my dear.
But, no more. I’m leaving this world tonight. I’ll be a free spirit, ready to see you again.
You’ve been away too long now.
I wasn’t meant to be alone.
I promise you, I’ve thought this through.

The river, my love, is more magnificent than you can imagine.
Remember how we’d wander along the bank, arm in arm, hunting for twigs.
Then we’d run like children up the limestone steps to the bridge.
We were too old for ‘pooh sticks’ but that never stopped us.
Age was just a number.
Now, my number’s up.

You always said the river looked dark and menacing, murky and bottomless.
It’s different now.
Three feet below the surface and the city lights bounce off the water. Shards of moonlight splinter into a thousand shimmering baubles.
It’s beautiful down here.

My lungs are filling up. The instinct to thrash and kick, to fight for life, has passed.
Rocks in my pockets help to weigh me down. I planned ahead, you see.
The constant flickering of the lamplight is both distracting and comforting.
They never did repair it, did they?
Its flashing light will be the last thing I see in this world.
I’m ready now and shall close my eyes.
I’m coming, my love.
Wait for me.

Leave a Reply

