When someone really ‘gets’ your book: WOW, WOW & more WOW

I love getting a new review for one of my books (I only have two, so don’t want to seem boastful). And, while it’s so heartwarming to see those five stars jump out the screen at you, it’s equally as gut-wrenching to see that the reader didn’t enjoy your story.
Now, none of us expect to please everyone – and nor should we, so we shrug off the not-so-glowing reviews and focus on the positive ones that make us able to write more.
That is, until the moment comes when a reader totally ‘gets’ your story. That delicious treat has just happened for me with Lacey’s Law. And, I’m on cloud nine, wrapped in a silver lining watching unicorns gambol over a rainbow. (Too much? Ah, you get my drift – I am one very happy bunny).

I’ve always known this story would appeal to a limited audience. From day one, my beta readers had such varied opinions on it. They told me they couldn’t root for Lacey, that she was too unlikable and not the ‘heroine’ people would want to read about.

I don’t know about you, but that just made my resolve to tell her story all the stronger. Maybe there’s more than a touch of me in Lacey, too. Well, hell yeah, I know there is.

Anyway, the review I received yesterday showed me that there are readers who understand her, who will grow to like her, even love her. Isn’t part of telling a story about showing how a character can change, develop, grow as a person according to the situations and issues they face? Lacey is not as bad as she’s painted. In fact, she’s a funny, loyal, fair and trusting woman (hmm, did I say she was a bit like me? – ah, well, maybe .. or maybe not 🙂 )

Here’s the review – and there are extra bonus points for this reviewer for spotting the sarcastic thread too. You know, some people mistook that element too!

“Lacey’s Law” is a refreshing, rather humorous story about one friend taking her long-awaited chance at revenge on another. Lacey and Carla have been friends since college, so what could Carla possibly do that was so evil that Lacey felt the need to carefully plan and organize her revenge, which involved Carla’s husband? Before you judge the protagonist for her machinations, she has quite a story to tell you, and after that the events start taking a completely different turn…
I really enjoyed reading about Lacey’s escapades, and the more I got to know her, the more I felt for her and soon even rooted for her plan to come to fruition. The irony, which interlaces quite a few of Lacey’s inner monologues made me chuckle on several occasions, and soon somehow, someway this sarcastic and yet incredibly lovable heroine wormed her way into my heart, and I couldn’t help but cheer for her in her grand finale.
A perfect read for all lovers of chick-lit genre. Definitely a five star story.

Pretty awesome, right?

So, for all you writers out there, take note. The time will come when a reader will ‘get’ your book, and when it does … Hands off the unicorn, he’s mine!

By the way, if you want to read Lacey’s story, knowing now what you do, then here’s the link.

Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

