The first 5 star review for Magic O’Clock

This morning I woke to find my first wonderful, fabulous, delightful review for Magic O’Clock , where time is irrelevant and hope is unlimited. (Currently on pre-order till May 7th)

The reviewer from Reader’s Favorite gives it a marvellous 5 stars and leaves such a lovely review that I had to share it here.

BOOK REVIEW

Reviewed by Rosie Malezer for Readers’ Favorite

Magic O’Clock is a fictional narrative of dementia and hope, written by Lynne Fellows. Although it is difficult to adjust when somebody dies, it is often more difficult to face the day with somebody you love, when you look into their eyes and know that they are looking back at a stranger. With her father’s new home being the Sunnyside Retirement Village, the narrator’s father, Archie Royle, smiles as he shuffles along, eager to entertain those who have gathered to hear his latest story. Such a wordsmith is Archie that his captivated audience makes no sound, hungrily eating up every single word, as if breaking a fast. You see, three o’clock is a magic hour, each and every day, when coherency magically returns so that Archie may talk of the many wonderful moments of his incredible life, whether real, imagined, or seen on television.

I was left smiling at the end of this short, but incredible story. Whilst fiction, it captures the reality of the harsh, yet seemingly lulling illness that is dementia. Lynne Fellows’ tale of a father who brightens up the room each day, putting a smile and a cheer on the faces of all those who listen, is beautiful, yet sad. Memories of my own father’s hugs brighten my days, and mean everything to me. I cannot even imagine how painful it must be for the families of those who suffer from dementia, just hoping for one moment of recognition on the face of one they love so deeply. Not only was I intrigued by Magic O’Clock (such a fitting title), but it was interesting to see one’s closest family member through the eyes of the author. Descriptive in nature and extremely well written, Magic O’Clock is recommended to all who have been touched by dementia, whether through a loved one or through their own experiences in life.

 Thank you Readers Favorite.
 It’s both exciting and daunting when launching a new piece, so to get such amazing feedback is fantastically splendiferous 🙂
I hope others will get as much from this as I did in writing it.

 

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. I’ve been binge reading your blog having found it late in the A-Z challenge. This post caught my eye because of the subject matter. So much so that I’ve pre-ordered it. To say I’m looking forward to it would be wrong – too many parallels – but I am interested to see how you’ve done it, to learn from.

    Bunny and the Bloke

    1. Aww – thank you so much. I’d love to know what you think later on. It’s a subject that means a lot to me, although the story is entirely fictional. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

      1. I’ll be honest, like most of us, my TBR pile is overwhelming. But I will read it and I will give you my feedback.

Leave a Reply

