Posted in Author interview, Lacey's Law, Magic O'Clock, The Fifth Wheel

My first author interview

Yesterday, I was lucky enough to be interviewed by Amazeballs Book Addicts and they even posted all my books and buy links, etc, etc, etc.

I was truly impressed by the detail they went into with and for me πŸ™‚

Thank you!

You can read the details here if you missed it – after all, posts have a habit of getting swallowed as time passes.

Interview With LS Fellows – Author

1. Can you tell us a little about your books?

So far, my books have little in common other than my authorship, all 3 being in different genres. My first, Lacey’s Law, sits on the Women’s Fiction shelf, but could easily get misplaced into the suspense or chick-lit categories. It’s a revenge novella – and something of an acquired taste as Lacey is not the most likeable of leading characters at first (although, I’m pleased to say that she is warming on people)

My second book, The Fifth Wheel, was written as part of an anthology – hence its short length. But I knew these characters had more to say. After all, when a girly holiday to Portugal goes awry, there’s always more than one side to the story. This has led to my forthcoming release – Courting Danger – which resolves the incident during that holiday in court.

Thirdly, my latest release, Magic o’Clock, is a more personal piece of fiction, dealing with the difficulties faced by families whose loved ones have dementia. It’s a short story, but hopefully one that gets across the hope that people need to see that you can still have good times.

2. When did you know you wanted to write a book?

I never did really. I’ve always loved reading, but writing wasn’t ever on my radar. Only when I moved to Spain and looked for new challenges (because moving abroad wasn’t challenging enough?? LOL). I came across NaNoWriMo and have never looked back.

3. Do you have a favorite food or drink you must have nearby when writing?

Depending on the season, this changes. Living in a hot climate, my summer needs are simple – ICE, ICE and more ICE- I had to buy a smoothie maker just to meet my own needs.

But in winter, I’m a cappuccino addict – just the regular type, lots of froth and maybe a chunk (or bar) of chocolate.

4. Do you have a favorite spot to write?

Again, weather permitting – I have a writing desk in the solarium, with views to the sea. But it can get too hot up there, so then I’ll settle anywhere with aircon or whirring fans.

5. What is a usual writing day like for you? How is it structured?

I don’t have a fixed structure. It all depends on what free time I have and making the most of it.

6. For a reader who hasn’t read your books yet, which book do you suggest they start with?

As my books are so different, then it really is down to the reader’s preferred genre. They’re all short or novella-length, so not too demanding of time.

7. What’s one random fact about yourself that you can share?

It’s widely known I’m a chocoholic and am currently working my way through a series of recipes to replicate my favourite treats from home – and can now make my own Fudge, Bounty, Crunchie and Creme Eggs

8. What is your favorite comfort food?

This might surprise people, especially after my previous answer … but bacon is my go-to food, possibly because it smells as good as it tastes πŸ™‚Bacon and fried tomatoes on a sandwich – YUM! (This was also the last thing I remember my dad making for me)

9. What are writing projects are you currently working on?

I’m editing one story – Courting Danger – which is the courtroom sequel to The Fifth Wheel. I’m also writing another story with these characters (Heirlooms & Heiresses) as well as a conspiracy thriller (The Untruth Hunters) and a Fantasy series (The Nasrid Charm series)

As you can see, I’m still finding my feet – or should that be fingers?? πŸ™‚

(I’ll steer clear of comedy after that though … )

Feel free to drop by my Facebook page, or that of Amazeballs – we’d all love to see you πŸ™‚

Author:

Dreams can come true and mine was to live in Spain forever and ever .... ο»Ώ Well, after studying languages many years ago I became totally enamoured with all things Spanish, I finally made the big move for a more 'relaxed' lifestyle in 2003. ο»Ώ Since then, I have been teaching Spanish to Ex-pats and translating. Also, I trained as a Community Manager (Social Media) so that I have a genuine excuse to be on Facebook, Twitter and the Internet for hours on end, but then I started to write. My first attempt was for NaNo 2012 with 'The Nasrid Charm' (a story set in Spain and the Afterlife.) Like most first drafts, this is in need of serious revision and has been placed on the backburner, while I pursue my mystery stories. I'll get back to it - one day :) ο»Ώ

2 thoughts on “My first author interview

    1. Thank you, Nicole. Glad you enjoyed it. I’m aiming for September now with Courting Danger, but nothing set in stone yet. Sending to betas next month and then will see how it goes. Thank you again πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

