book review · chick-lit · Contemporary Romance · humour · NetGalley · relationships · women's fiction

Book Review – One Summer in Santorini

One Summer in Santorini

by Sandy Barker

There was something in the air that night. . .

Sarah has had enough of men. It’s time to rekindle her first true love – travel – so she books a sailing trip around the Greek islands with a group of strangers.

The very last thing Sarah wants is to meet someone new… But then a gorgeous American man boards her yacht and she knows she’s in trouble. And when she also encounters a handsome silver fox who promises her the world, she realises that trouble really does come in twos.

Will Sarah dive into a holiday fling, embark on a relationship, or stick to her plan – steer clear of men, continue her love affair with feta, and find her own way after all?

What others are saying …

The perfect holiday read to escape with this summer for fans of Annie Robertson’s My Mamma Mia Summer and Mandy Baggot’s One Last Greek Summer.

‘A summery romantic debut from a fresh voice in romantic fiction. Made me want to pack my bags for the Greek islands this instant!’ Phillipa Ashley, bestselling author of A Perfect Cornish Summer

‘A fun and flirty escapist read.’ Samantha Tonge, bestselling author of Knowing You

My Review …

A feast for the eyes with beautiful scenes of the Greek islands, a feast in general with plates of delicious Greek food, and lashings of sharp, witty humour to give you belly ache.

The story began well, with Sarah’s funny and relatable view of her break-up with Neil as told to her sister before she set off for her ‘get over it all’ jaunt around the Greek isles. On a whim she’d booked the trip – a ten-day break on a boat with strangers! And why not? After Neil, she deserved some ‘me’ time, and where better than halfway across the world, on a boat in the the middle of the ocean. If that’s not escapism, then I don’t know what is.

As we found out though, Sarah is not the luckiest of travellers – and this time was no different, losing her driver’s licence and wallet before the trip even began. Her bad luck jinx seemed to follow her everywhere, although spotting a cute American at the bus station, and then again on her bus … well, it took the edge off things. And, well, whaddya know he’s on the same trip too! Things were looking up. Or were they?

Her fellow passengers on the boat turned out to be the nicest bunch ever, restoring her faith in strangers and really helping her to relax and live in the moment. Even her roommate Hannah – a bit odd at first – became a trusted friend.

But it was her relationship with the cute American, Josh, that drove the story. She hadn’t planned on meeting anyone, let alone being as attracted to him as she clearly was. He, too, was on board just for the travel and the experience, having never left the US before, and he was most certainly not looking for love.

Despite both Sarah and Josh recognising the mutual attraction, there was a lot of ‘will they / won’t they’ going on, and this was exacerbated further with the arrival of James, aka the Silver Fox, an older, rich man who made no bones about being attracted to Sarah. She knew exactly where she stood with James; with Josh it was never totally clear, although there was a hint of jealousy when Josh realised he had a rival.

In between the ‘romance that could have been’, the group took in some amazing sights, ate some wonderful food and, as a result, bookings to Santorini will probably skyrocket as more readers learn of its beauty and that it has the best tomatoes in the world!

Saying goodbye was never going to be easy; Sarah had made some strong bonds with her fellow travellers. But as she headed back to London for a final week with her sister before flying home to Sydney, her dilemma was never more evident.

Josh, despite occasional signs to the contrary, seemed to just want a travel ‘bud’, whereas James was much keener and determined to meet up with her while she’s in London.

What’s a girl to do? She wanted a BIGGER life, but can she handle the options available to her? I guess we’ll find out in the next book. Looking forward to it already 🙂

I enjoyed this story, the imagery drew me in, the food made me drool, and the witty asides made me chuckle. I’ll definitely be back for seconds.

My thanks to Sandy Barker, Avon Books UK and Netgalley for a copy of this book. This review is all mine, and made of my own free will 😉

As always,

3 thoughts on “Book Review – One Summer in Santorini

      1. You will be happy to know it is written, as is another book in the series about Sarah’s sister, Cat. Hopefully soon I will get to announce which one is coming next!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.