book review · crime · NetGalley · psychological suspense · thriller · thriller & crime

Book Recommendation ‘n’ Review – The Good Neighbor

The Good Neighbor

by Cathryn Grant

Sometimes the past just won’t stay buried.

When 14 year old Brittany disappears one night, her parents are devastated, certain she has been taken.

They can’t bear to think about who has done this and what might be happening to their precious girl.

Even worse, the police seem to see them as suspects, implying that they may have had a part in their own daughter’s disappearance. Only their neighbor, Taylor, is a rock. She organizes search parties, feeds the volunteers, works night and day to help them find Brittany.

But as this affluent California community becomes focused on the hunt for the missing girl, it slowly becomes clear that her disappearance is linked to terrible secrets from the past.

Secrets that must be kept hidden at all costs….

The Good Neighbor is a gripping psychological thriller that twists and turns as it races towards its nerve-shredding climax. Perfect for fans of K. L. Slater, Teresa Driscoll and Mark Edwards.

What readers are saying about The Good Neighbor:

‘I don’t even know where to start! This book has left me speechless. I love all of the mystery and drama The Good Neighbor provided.’ – NetGalley Reviewer

‘The Good Neighbor is a thrilling read that will have you gripped right from the beginning till the final page. If you love a story that is full of secrets, mystery, suspense with twists and turns, then this is the book for you.’ – Onceaponatimebookblog.com

‘Omg, this is a totally and utterly AMAZING book. It’s an intense tale of manipulation, lies, suspicion, deception and secrets that poses the question. Is it always best to do the right thing?’ – NetGalley Reviewer

‘Wow! To say this book “packs a punch” is such an understatement – it more ‘smacks you around the head with a 9 iron!’ There were twists and turns around every corner all neatly packaged within this highly readable tale.’ – ReadandRated.com

‘A great, can’t put it down suspense mystery novel. Read it in one day! It is rare to be surprised at how a story twists and turns I highly recommend for a great take on a plot that isn’t predictable.’ – NetGalley Reviewer

‘I loved the characters in this book…The book developed a hold over me…I was drawn into this story from the first word on the first page and Cathryn kept my attention throughout the book…a very well deserved 5* out of 5*.’ – gingerbookgeek.wordpress.com

‘A fantastic psychological thriller. Suspense filled and a very exciting read. Loved it. A good and exciting mystery.’ – NetGalley Reviewer

My Review

Well, am I chuffed to have found this book or what? A very clever story that is both tense and intense.

The Good Neighbor is Taylor Swanick, who just wants to bring some community spirit to the quiet – and frankly, dull – cul-de-sac in which she lives with her husband. Everyone seems to just go about their business, but Taylor wants more from her neighbours; she wants a sense of camaraderie, of pitching in together, sharing and generally being neighbourly.

The latest additions to the street are, however, more reserved and hermit-like than ever. But when, one night, Taylor is woken by someone frantically knocking on her front door, little does she realise things will never be the same again. Careful what you wish for …as Taylor was about to find out.

Her new neighbour, Moira, is screaming hysterically, convinced her daughter Brittany has been abducted from her bedroom. Taylor’s determination to get the whole street involved soon sees them all searching the open space behind their homes. All to no avail. But, Taylor, doesn’t stop there, nor does she do as her husband advises and leave it to the police. She starts a Facebook page, appealing to the public to find Brittany.

Let’s just say, that she doesn’t expect to get so many hoax responses to her plea for help. Nor does she expect to find someone like Crystal who knows Moira and her family all too well. In fact, Crystal knows an awful lot about them, and she’s not going to be hushed this time.

This is a gripping story, and once that humongous twist comes at the halfway stage I can assure you there’s no going back until you finish. The story is filled to the brim with larger than life characters. Not all of them are remotely likeable, and some are definitely not playing with a full deck. Yet, despite that they seem so normal. It’s scary to think that beneath the surface these people are nothing like you could ever imagine. Taylor most certainly was not prepared for what happened …and nor was I.

Don’t be thinking this is just a story about a missing teenager, because it’s way more than that. This is a story about people. Taylor is just looking for a sense of community; Moira and Alan are looking to stay under the radar, and Crystal is after the truth and justice. The story is told primarily from the viewpoints of Taylor and Moira, but also includes young neighbour, Luke, as well as some insight into who Brittany is and the life she has been leading thus far.

This is a well-paced story that hooked me early on, and included some major curve balls that blew me away. I’ve not read anything by this author before, but I surely will look out for her other work from hereon.

I received a copy from Netgalley, and wish to thank the author and her publishers for making it available.

As always,