blog tour · book review · mystery · NetGalley

Blog Tour ‘n’ Book Review – The House Party

The House Party

Someone is about to die… Someone is about to lie…

At the intimate house-warming party for her glorious ‘grand design’, Kathleen confides in her best friend Beth that she is terrified of one of their close friends, but daren’t reveal which one. The guests are a tight-knit group, but Kathleen is convinced one of them is dangerous.

The next day Kathleen’s body is found at the foot of a cliff and Beth must face the sickening truth that she may have been killed by one of their trusted friends. With little help from the police, Beth’s decides to seek answers.

All the friends have secrets they are desperate to hide, but only one of them is ready to kill to keep theirs safe…

The House Party is set on the Isle of Wight – insular,claustrophobic, and with nowhere to run. Mary Grand has written a heart-stopping novel of secretsbetrayal and desire, perfect for fans of Louise Candlish and Lucy Foley.

Purchase Link  https://amzn.to/35kKciQ

Author Bio

Mary Grand is the author of five novels and writes gripping, page-turning suspense, with a dark and often murderous underside.

She grew up in Wales, was for many years a teacher of deaf children and now lives on the Isle of Wight where her new novel, The House Party, which will be published by Boldwood in July 2020, is set.

Social Media Links

Twitter Profile: https://twitter.com/authormaryg

Facebook Profile: https://www.facebook.com/authormarygrand/

Instagram Profile: https://www.instagram.com/maryandpepper/?hl=en

Bookbub Profile: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/mary-grand?list=about

Blog / website URL: https://marygrand.net/

My Review

This is the first book I’ve read by Mary Grand, and I’m delighted to have started with such a strong, well-written and pacy story.

Did she slip – or was she pushed?

This is the concept behind the story after Kathleen is found dead at the bottom of the cliff near her home only hours after confessing to her friend. Beth, that she was afraid of one of the guests at her house party that night.

First assumptions are that it’s a suicide, but Beth is not convinced. Without wanting to draw attention, Beth tries to fathom out what happened to her friend. With so few guests – and all of them good friends – at the party, Kathleen’s accusation that someone was threatening seems unbelievable, but still Beth cannot agree that her friend would have killed herself.

The mystery unravels as Beth suspects everyone, and their behaviour only spurs her on. So many have secrets they want kept private, but one person has an even bigger secret …and Beth risks her own life to uncover it.

A hugely entertaining mystery, paced perfectly to allow the reader to work through the clues with Beth. So many suspects, so many possibilities, and oh, so many secrets.

Thanks to NetGalley and Boldwood for an Arc; my review here is left voluntarily.

For more news and reviews,

 

As always,

One thought on “Blog Tour ‘n’ Book Review – The House Party

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.