blog tour · book review · crime · police procedural · series

Blog Tour ‘n’ Book Review – A Knot of Sparrows

A Knot Of Sparrows

Welsh detective Winter Meadows takes on a new murder case

There were a lot of things you could call Stacey Evans. And many of them would be true. And unprintable. But did she deserve to be murdered?

DI Winter Meadows has no doubt of the answer when he takes on the case. The crime was violent. The victim helpless. But the motives are many, and the only clue is a strange word left on Stacey’s body.

DI Meadows struggles to pierce the secrecy surrounding the teenager’s busy love life. Was the killer one of her pursuers acting out of jealousy? Maybe someone’s wife seeking revenge?

But as each suspect is excluded from the enquiry, and other markings turn up, Meadows is convinced that something more sinister is afoot.

When another body is found, a veil of silence descends like a fog upon Gaer Fawr. What more will it take for the village to give up its secrets?

A KNOT OF SPARROWS is the fourth standalone title in a series of murder mysteries by best-selling author Cheryl Rees-Price. It will appeal to fans of David Pearson, L J Ross, John Dean, Joy Ellis, and Pippa McCathie.

The full list of books is as follows:

1. THE SILENT QUARRY

2. FROZEN MINDS

3. SUFFER THE CHILDREN

4. A KNOT OF SPARROWS

Cheryl Rees-Price is also the author of the standalone thriller BLUE HOLLOW.

All of these books are FREE with Kindle Unlimited and available in paperback from Amazon.

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08XQS6219/

US – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08XQS6219/

Author Bio

Cheryl Rees-Price was born in Cardiff and moved as a young child to a small ex-mining village on the edge of the Black Mountain range, South Wales, where she still lives with her husband, daughters and cats. After leaving school she worked as a legal clerk for several years before leaving to raise her two daughters.
Cheryl returned to education, studying philosophy, sociology, and accountancy whilst working as a part time book keeper. She now works as a finance director for a company that delivers project management and accounting services.
In her spare time Cheryl indulges in her passion for writing, the success of writing plays for local performances gave her the confidence to write her first novel. Her other hobbies include walking and gardening which free her mind to develop plots and create colourful characters.

Social Media Links

The Book Folks | Facebook

Cheryl Rees-Price | Facebook

https://twitter.com/CherylreesPrice

My Review

After finishing this I was kicking myself for coming late to the party with this author but, on the plus side, there are three more books for me still to discover!

Teenager Stacey Evans is found murdered, having recently split with her boyfriend amid rumours of her involvement with other men in the village. It comes to light that she bullied a girl at school who later went on to kill herself. For DI Meadows, the case suggests there are many with a motive to kill her. Was it really a random killing as many seem to say or is something more sinister afoot. The killer’s calling card in the form of REV17 written on her body infers it’s not as straightforward as some might think. And when more incidents occur with similar messages left behind, the connection points to biblical references.

Whenever Meadows and his team sense a breakthrough, the suspects seem to have firm alibis as the community bandies around to vouch for each other. Things do not add up, but Meadows is not one for giving up easily. I enjoyed how his team worked together, he and Edris have a great rapport (on a side note, I’d go to their Halloween party 😉 for sure) and a dogged determination to solve the case(s)

The villagers, on the other hand, possess a loyalty that unites them in grief, no matter how misplaced said loyalty is, and the lengths to which they would go to keep a secret says a lot for their sense of community and justice … or should I say revenge?

An original ending too, that goes to show that not every story ends as you might expect it to.

For more news and reviews,

As always,

Amazon Reviewer Name
Reviewed on Amazon UK as Meandthemutts

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.