blog tour · book review · Italy

Blog Tour ‘n’ Book Review – Secrets on the Italian Island

Publication Day Push – 8th July 2021

Escape to Tuscany

Secrets on the Italian Island

Her work has got in the way of relationships before – but never like this

Anna’s job as a geologist takes her all over the world, including to the beautiful island of Elba, where she’s sent to look for precious metals. And the island isn’t the only thing that’s gorgeous – she can’t believe her luck when she meets windsurfer Marco and sparks fly.

But Anna must keep her role on Elba a secret to avoid upsetting the locals, which means lying to Marco even as they grow closer. When her old friend Toby visits, Anna suddenly finds herself torn between the attentions of the two men. However, Anna’s not the only one keeping secrets.

Is Marco being entirely honest with her? And why did Toby really come to visit?

A fun and escapist romance, perfect for fans of Lucy Coleman and Alex Brown.

Purchase Link mybook.to/SecretsIsland

Author Bio

I’m a man. And a pretty old man as well. I did languages at university a long time ago and then lived and worked in France and Switzerland before going to Italy for seven years as a teacher of English. My Italian wife and I then came back to the UK with our little daughter (now long-since grown up) where I ran a big English language school for many years. We now live in a sleepy little village in Devonshire. I’ve been writing almost all my life but it was only seven years ago that I finally managed to find a publisher who liked my work enough to offer me my first contract.

The fact that I am now writing romantic comedy is something I still find hard to explain. My early books were thrillers and historical novels. Maybe it’s because there are so many horrible things happening in the world today that I feel I need to do my best to provide something to cheer my readers up. My books provide escapism to some gorgeous locations, even if travel to them is currently difficult.

Social Media Links

Website: www.tawilliamsbooks.com

Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/tawilliamsbooks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TrevorWilliamsBooks/

My Review

After reading a lot of psychological suspense and tense historical fiction, I couldn’t have wished for a more beautiful contrast in this third book of the Escape to Tuscany series.

Anna is at a turning point; her job means she moves around a lot and so has trouble forming meaningful relationships that can stand the separation that her work demands. Even her mother is getting in on the search for a husband for her daughter, much to Anna’s dismay. After fixing Anna up with a date – Toby – the son of a friend, her mum is hopeful that he’s the one. But Anna still can’t see how she can reconcile the demands of her job with a relationship. Anna has to decide whether her current, single, career-focused lifestyle is the future she sees for herself, and she resolves to make that decision after her next job in Elba.

Enchanted by the beautiful island, she quickly becomes aware of how mining for minerals could ruin its natural beauty and impact the environment for many years to come. Yet she has a job to do, and so keeping quiet about her real reason for being on the island is paramount.

Especially when she encounters Marco at the beach on her first day. The Italian hunk causes stirrings within her that she hasn’t felt in a long time, and a battle between Sensible Anna and Naughty Anna ensues. It’s a close run thing, and Anna is so close to succumbing to Marco’s charms, despite warnings of his playboy lifestyle. However when she learns Marco is part of an environmental group, it’s clear the two of them are not compatible in any long term capacity. Though a summer fling couldn’t do any harm, could it? And, of course, there’s still Toby to consider after he makes a special effort to interrupt his own holiday to meet up with her in Elba.

It’s getting more difficult for Anna to keep her job a secret, especially when it seems the environmentalists have heard rumours of a mining company exploring the island.

When a man who collapses on the beach, only to be saved by Anna and her colleague when his dog alerts them to his owner’s distress, she further helps out by looking after the man’s dog, George, until he is released. Jack cannot thank her enough and insists she stay in a cabin on his land when her hotel stay comes to an end. Anna and Jack hit it off, and learning that he was in the same profession leads to some fascinating conversations – although Anna can not tell him about her role on the island. The enforced secrecy begins to take its toll and soon Anna is in a hurry to leave.

She’s going to miss Jack and George, and even Marco until she gets a rude awakening that confirms her poor judgement in even imagining any kind of relationship with him. Can she make a go of things with Toby though? Is her mum right about him? And what of her future career path? As the title suggests there are lots of secret of the Italian island of Elba, and eventually they all have to come out. How will everyone react? For that, you’ll have to read it yourself. Trust me, you’ll love the ending even if there’s a tear in your eyes as you finish.

I was enthralled by Anna’s profession and the geological viewpoint on which the story focused, especially the fascinating history that took its toll on similar areas that had been mined at the expense of the environment. I loved the relationship between Anna and Jack, aided and abetted by the delightful George. This was an absolute breath of fresh air, complimented by stunning scenery, delicious food, and the formation of genuine friendships.

Hope there’s a fourth book in the series! The story is as mesmorizing as its cover.

As always