book review · crime · police procedural

Book Review – 20/20

Can you see a killer before it’s too late?

On the first day of her new job, D.I. Eva Harris is called to the scene of a brutal murder at the heart of Surrey society. A shocking crime by a meticulous killer – who escaped with the victim’s eyes.

With the body drained of blood and no forensic evidence left at the scene, Harris’ efforts to find the killer becomes desperate. But as her investigation is complicated by corruption at the heart of the police, she doesn’t know who to trust on her own team.

As the pressure mounts, Eva realises the murder is even more horrific than it seems, and her own dreadful history threatens to be drawn out with it…

A dark and compulsive detective novel, for fans of Chris Carter and M.W Craven.

My thoughts

I expected to love this book, and at first I did enjoy it … but then the excessive technical terms distracted me from the story. I realise some background to the eye condition was necessary but it was too much for me and it affected the pacing – and my interest – considerably, becoming more textbook-like than fiction.

Eva is a strong and determined character who has few qualms in doing whatever is necessary to achieve a goal, and she seems to have a wide knowledge of almost anything, from art to film to string theory. She’s also incredibly “busy” – in this book alone there are many mysteries and crimes to be solved – two serial killers and several “mob” gangs that ultimately amount to at least four cases to crack. She is constantly under pressure and the tension is paramount, the pacing does increase substantially and the final scene is good but maybe not what I expected or felt was worthy of Eva’s story.

Fans of gritty and disturbing murder mysteries will enjoy this.

As always,