blog tour · book review · love · mystery · thriller & crime

Blog Tour ‘n’ Book Review – Dead Winner

Dead Winner by Kevin G Chapman

ABOUT DEAD WINNER

Dead Winner is a treasure-hunt mystery/thriller with a love story. Or is it? It’s the story of a lonely, cautious lawyer, Rory, who has the chance to step out of his riskless life, become the hero he pretends to be in video adventure games, and win the heart of Monica, the only woman he ever loved.

When Monica and her husband, Tom, discover they have a $60 million winning lottery ticket, old friend Rory is roped in to help them set up a trust to manage the money. So far so good – except that the next week, Tom is found dead with a gunshot to his head, apparently a suicide.

Why would such a lucky man take his own life?  And if it’s murder, why would his lovely wife become a suspect?  And more than that…. Where is the winning lottery ticket?

PRAISE FOR DEAD WINNER

“Dead Winner is a fun read with some VERY surprising twists! Fans of Michael Connelly and James Patterson will be impressed with this intriguing mystery thriller.” – Dan Alatorre, USA today bestselling author of The Gamma Sequence and Double Blind

“This story has it all; intriguing characters, a plot that would satisfy Machiavelli himself and my personal favourite, a lovable protagonist. I couldn’t stop reading until the twisted end. Very satisfying!” – Anna Willett, author of Dear Neighbour and the bestselling Lucy Hush series

“This action-packed thrill ride of a neo-noir keeps us guessing and turns up the tension at every turn. You’ll love this wild race and the twisty, dramatic finish.” – Valerie J. Brooks author of 1 Last Betrayal: the Third Book in the Angeline Porter Trilogy

“Mystery readers who look for more than whodunit elements will find Dead Winner compelling. It takes the time to build relationship puzzles into its overlying mystery; creates a strong, likeable, but flawed character in Rory McEntyre; and it develops realistic atmospheres to support its action and inquiries.” – D. Donovan, Sr. Reviewer, Midwest Book Review

“A magnificent story that kept this reader turning the pages. Both thrilling and intriguing, all the way to the end.” – Amy’s Bookshelf Reviews

Book and Author Information

  • Purchase link: kindle: https://mybook.to/DeadWinner_Amazon (pre-order; launching November 24)
  • Paperback, hardback and audiobook – TBC available soon
  • Genre:  Crime Thriller (Romantic)
  • Print length: 312 pages (80K words)
  • Age range: This is an adult book, but would be suitable for some mature teens age 16+
  • Trigger warnings: consensual sexual scenes, non-graphic
  • Amazon Rating: Not yet launched; 5* pre-publication ratings

My Review

Dead Winner begins with an interesting title and goes on to deliver a plot that totally lives up to such intrigue.
Rory is a hard-working, honest-as-the-day-is long estate lawyer with a penchant for gaming where his alter ego – a genuine keyboard warrior – is fearless, powerful and decisive. His everyday life is mundane but he’s successful in his field, well-liked, if a little naïve. So when Tom & Monica, old friends from college, – and I use the term friends loosely – seek him out to handle their affairs after a humongous lottery win that they insist on keeping secret for now – he can’t turn them down. In fact, he’s flattered they came to him whilst also trying to hide his long-term crush on Monica. Besides, it’ll mean bringing a lot of business to his firm, something that won’t harm his career in the slightest.
He doesn’t see that they’re taking advantage of him; friends wouldn’t do that, and anyway he can manage their affairs like the competent lawyer he is… until Tom is found dead and the lottery ticket has vanished.

Monica, aka the grieving widow, looks to Rory for support… and he can’t believe his luck when their “relationship” takes an altogether surprising turn. Their new goal is to find that ticket all while Tom’s business partners are happy to see his death recorded as suicide, since that’ll keep the police at bay.
Well, for a while at least, until Rory uncovers details that bring their business into disrepute, tarnish Tom’s reputation and bring him into direct contact with gangsters and killers.

Will they find that ticket? Can it all be worked out without any more “incidents”? To know for sure you’ll need to read the book. Expect drama, high stakes, plenty of tension and an awful lot of empathy for Rory as he does everything he can, plus more, to fulfil his promise to handle his friend’s affairs.

Dead Winner is jam-packed with great twists that had me second guessing everything for a while, although the penny did drop for me long before the end. Even so, the fast paced nature of the story and wanting to see how events panned out held my attention right to a very satisfying conclusion.
Highly recommended, and a new author for me to follow.

AUTHOR’S AWARDS

Book #1 of the Mike Stoneman series, Righteous Assassin: 2019 Kindle Book Award & CLUE Award semi-finalist

Book #2, Deadly Enterprise: 2020 Kindle Book Award Semi-finalist

Book #3 Lethal Voyage: 2021 Kindle Book Award as the best mystery/thriller of the year

Book #4, Fatal Infraction: 2022 CLUE Award as the #1 Police Procedural of the year

Book #4, Fatal Infraction: 2022 semi-finalist for the Kindle Book Award

A picture containing arrow

Description automatically generated

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Kevin Chapman is an attorney specializing in labor and employment law.  His passion (aside from playing tournament poker and rooting for his beloved New York Mets) is writing fiction. He recently completed the first five books in his Mike Stoneman Thriller series.

Kevin writes: “The process of writing crime thrillers involves hours of thinking about and talking about how to kill people. And how to get away with it. It also involves figuring out how my protagonist detectives might solve the case. But mostly it’s about planning out ingenious ways to murder people. My wife is a willing participant in this process (so she must trust me). My current book is more of a mystery, and a little bit of a tragic romance. But all the stories are about the characters. If you don’t care about them, then I’m not doing my job.”

TO CONTACT THE AUTHOR

Kevin G Chapman welcomes communication from his readers – including comments, ideas, disagreements and critiques. He can be contacted via any of the links below:

Author website: https://kevingchapman.com/

The Mike Stoneman Thriller Group on Facebook

Email him at kevin[at]kevingchapman[dot]com

He is also on Twitter (@KGChapman) and Instagram (@kevingchapman)

As always,

Amazon Reviewer Name

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.